Attention! The following is a Research project!

Research projects are created in cooperation with our partners and are the basis for possible product developments. If you are interested in a cooperation or in the presented project, please use the contact form at the bottom of the page.

The Marburg Breath Response Measurement ...

worum ging es?

In the MATAM project, a consortium of Hessian companies and scientific institutions has developed an automated procedure that allows standardized measurement and evaluation of hypercapnic chemosensitivity.

The method extends conventional pulmonary function diagnostics and allows estimation of hypoventilation risk in COPD patients.

MATAM II aimed to develop a certified medical device that can be used in multicenter clinical trials.

Render des MATAM II
Logo Loewe

Is the Project still running?

This project (HA 207/09-07) was funded within the framework of the Hessen Model Projects by the LOEWE - Landes-Offensive zur Entwicklung Wissenschaftlich-ökonomischer Exzellenz, Förderlinie 3: KMU-Verbundvorhaben.

It ran from 10/2009 till 03/2011.

Cooperation partners of the joint project were the Sleep Medical Center of the Philipps University of Marburg, the Technical University of Central Hesse (THM), TransMIT GmbH as well as IfM GmbH and Thora Tech GmbH.

What is the Basic Principle of the procedure?

In the method, respiratory response and respiratory drive are measured in a closed, controlled system. The system can generate hypercapnic gas mixtures of definable composition, which allows the modification of only one respiratory gas component at a time.

The system is controlled by a measurement, control and regulation computer, which is informed about the system states and the respiratory physiological parameters by means of gas and pressure sensors and can intervene in the system by means of inlet, ventilating and valves to intervene in the system.

With the nostril closed, the patient is connected to the closed circuit of the system via a mouthpiece. Air flows are determined using pneumotachographs. Oxygen and carbon dioxide are measured via a respiratory gas monitor which takes a gas sample directly from the mouthpiece. Capillary oxygen saturation and pulse rate are determined using an ear pulse oximeter.

The examination takes about 30 minutes and does not require any special breathing maneuvers on the part of the patient. He can follow his normal respiratory urge.

Compared to the usual nocturnal examination in the sleep laboratory, the shorter time required promises a significantly lower burden for patients and examiners as well as considerably lower costs.

Render des MATAM II

Contact us

Would you like to learn more or do you have questions about specific projects? Please do not hesitate to contact us!


en_US
Cookie Consent Banner by Real Cookie Banner

Achtung! Es handelt sich nachfolgend um ein Forschungsprojekt!

Forschungsprojekte entstehen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partnern und dienen als Grundlage für eventuelle Produktentwicklungen. Falls Sie Interesse an einer Kooperation oder dem vorgestellten Projekt haben, nutzen Sie gerne das Kontaktformular am Ende der Seite.

Die Marburger-Atem-Antwort-Messung …

worum ging es?

In dem Projekt MATAM hat ein Zusammenschluss hessischer Unternehmen und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen ein automatisches Verfahren entwickelt, das eine standardisierte Messung und Bewertung der hyperkapnischen Chemosensivität erlaubt.

Die Methode erweitert die konventionelle Lungenfunktions-diagnostik und erlaubt eine Abschätzung des Hypoventilations-risikos bei COPD-Patienten.

MATAM II verfolgte das Ziel, ein zertifiziertes medizintechnisches Gerät zu entwickeln, welches in multizentrischen klinischen Studien eingesetzt werden kann.

Render des MATAM II
Logo Loewe

Ist das Projekt noch aktuell?

Diese Projekt (HA 207/09-07) wurde im Rahmen der Hessen Modell Projekte aus Mitteln der LOEWE – Landes-Offensive zur Entwicklung Wissenschaftlich-ökonomischer Exzellenz, Förderlinie 3: KMU-Verbundvorhaben gefördert.

Es lief von 10/2009 bis 03/2011.

Kooperationspartner des Verbundvorhabens waren das Schlafmedizinische Zentrum der Philipps-Universität Marburg, die Technische Hochschule Mittelhessen, die TransMIT GmbH, sowie die IfM GmbH und die Thora Tech GmbH.

Was ist das Grundprinzip hinter dem Verfahren?

Bei dem Verfahren werden Atemantwort und Atemantrieb in einem geschlossenen, geregelten System gemessen. Das System kann hyperkapnische Gasgemische von definierbarer Zusammensetzung erzeugen, was die Veränderung jeweils nur einer Atemgaskomponente ermöglicht.

Die Kontrolle des Systemsübernimmt ein Mess-, Steuerungs- und Regelungsrechner, der mit Hilfe von Gas- und Drucksensoren über die Systemzustände und die atemphysiologischen Parameter informiert wird und über Einlass-, Belüftungs- und Umschaltventile in das System eingreifen kann.

Der Patient wird bei verschlossener Nasenöffnung über ein Mundstück mit dem geschlossenen Kreislauf des Systems verbunden. Die Luftflüsse werden mittels Pneumotachographen ermittelt. Sauerstoff und Kohlendioxid werden über einen Atemgasmonitor gemessen, der eine Gasprobe direkt am Mundstück abgreift. Die kapillare Sauerstoffsättigung sowie die Pulsfrequenz werden mit einem Ohr-Pulsoxymeter bestimmt.

Die Untersuchungsdauer beträgt circa 30 Minuten und erfordert keine besonderen Atemmanöver des Patienten. Er kann seinem normalen Atemdrang nachkommen.

Im Vergleich zu der bislang üblichen nächtlichen Untersuchung im Schlaflabor verspricht der kürzere Zeitaufwand eine wesentlich geringere Belastung für die Patienten und die Untersucher sowie erheblich niedrigere Kosten.

Render des MATAM II

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Sie möchten mehr erfahren oder haben Fragen zu bestimmten Projekten? Bitte zögern Sie nicht uns zu kontaktieren!


de_DE